Property Taxes

Tax bills are mailed to taxpayers twice each year. Summer taxes are levied and mailed July 1; winter taxes are levied and mailed December 1. Taxes may be paid by mail; in person at Customer Service from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays); or you may leave your tax payment in one of the locked drop boxes, which are located at the parking lot exit on Quaker Street and next to the front door of City Hall (Phoenix Street).

Summer taxes include those used to fund City operations, including a tax collection for South Haven Memorial Library; residential garbage collection; narcotics fund; South Haven Public Schools, including debt retirement; and State of Michigan Education Tax. Winter taxes are collected by the City and disbursed to Van Buren and Allegan Counties and Van Buren Intermediate School District. Winter taxes are also collected for City operations, including tax collections for South Haven Community Hospital and South Haven Senior Services.

Summer taxes are due by September 19 and Winter taxes are due February 14. Payment for real property taxes paid after March 1 is made to Van Buren or Allegan County Treasurer.