Airport Authority

Created by Resolution – June 6, 1983 

4 Year Term-Meets 3rd Wednesday each month at Airport 

The present membership of the authority shall consist of the Cities of South Haven and Bangor, the Townships of Covert, Geneva and South Haven, all of Van Buren County; and of Casco Township, Allegan County and such other communities as shall join with the Authority at a later date. 

The Authority shall be governed by a Board consisting of two (2) members from the City of South Haven, two (2) members of Bangor and Townships of South Haven, Geneva, and Casco, to be appointed by their respective legislative bodies, and two members at large to be appointed by the Michigan Aeronautics Commission and confirmed by the members of the Authority. The number of board members from each governmental unit is based on total population and amount of State Equalized Evaluation for the respective governmental units.

Purpose as Defined In Enabling Statute/Ordinance/Resolution

The purpose of the South Haven Area Airport Authority is to plan, promote, acquire, construct, improve, enlarge, own and maintain the airport; to own and operate an airport including land, landing strip, navigational aids and buildings; to provide efficient service to all who use the facility; and to initiate and maintain rules and regulations for the operation of the authority and the airport.